Americans,
your President.


claude le monde
UDvCLM
...
archives + shop le monde
guestbook
diaryland
email the claw
...
the last five entries:

i killed it Gilbert

the taco mystique

no networks, no nukes, not notcakes

my vacation in numbers

cycloparappin: CnH4n


how we do:
loupe online
universal donor
tape + solitaire
dr j.j.
tuckova
drunkenbee
my ninjas
dinosaur comics !
the 2ndhand
12% beer


+ you are #




1:27 pm | 16 September 2003 | another dumb list entry. you hate me, don't you?

Things I Have Thought About Today, In No Particular Order, and With No Particular Inference or Emphasis

1. The root "cata-". What does it mean? Then I thought, Okay, think of all the cata- words and see what they have in common. Catalogue, cataclysm, catacomb, catastrophic, catalyst, catarrh, catapult. What does it mean? (Answer: Latin cata- is "down, away from." The Greek kata- is just an intensifier.)

2. This Bangkok Curry instant-noodly-packet-thing is treading the fine line between "madly delicious" and "subtly bland." Also: coconut milk tastes like a human product. Discuss.

3. What is my dad's metal ankle* made of? (Answer: cobalt and titanium, apparently. WHOA.)

4. The phrase "kiss my ass" is kind of about degradation--either because of the ass=dirty/disgusting factor, or the your-lips-are-worthy-only-to-touch-my-ass thing, but is also kind of like paying tribute or fealty to the ass-kissed, you know, kind of medieval, really, O Captain My Captain and all that. DORK DORK DORK

5. Attention: There is not enough wooing in my life. Yes, i know, it's criminal. My shit should not only be getting wooed on a regular-to-frequent basis, but, in addition, i should be courted, yes: courted promptly and seriously. WOO ME MOTHERFUCKERS

6. (Brief interlude for listening to guiltily downloaded emo songs and thinking about weeping but giving it up as too lazy to expend effort towards actual weeping. Back to disjointed thinking.)

7. Every time I move I make a couple friends I will miss, but this time I think I will actually miss like 30 or 40 people, not, you know, two, which is a pleasant but daunting prospect and which, i'm sure, is due entirely to my being 150% frickin' AWESOME the last year or so, as opposed to Early Claude 9.0 Classic Environment: Bring on the Suck, who was much less festive while being waaaaaay more of an alcoholic. Then troubling thought: is drinking less (or doing more "quality drinking" as i like to think of it) actually making me better? Less booze=more fun? No, this is too disturbing to contemplate. Quick think about something else la la la lala lalalala

8. No, i take it back, the Bangkok Curry packet-meal-of-rice-bits-and-powder is actually very good. Maybe it needed to steep? Coconut milk is still weird, though. Thank you, Thai Kitchen, for not failing to respond to my needs (needs: lunch for 79�). Also: Thai Kitchen website, you are so aggro and scary, with your big Mao-ey red flash screen thing! I'm escared.

9. Protracted bout of pondering re: The Chamber Strings' "Make It Through the Summer," and, indeed, its entire album of derivation, the multi-excellent "Month of Sundays," and its lyrical congruence to my current situ. Eerie! Okay back to work. clm.

*More about my Bionic Dad some other time. JUST WAIT.


prev... (home) ...next

unless otherwise noted, all work contained herein is � claudia sherman, 2002-04.
all rights, including those of reproduction, reserved.