Americans,
your President.


claude le monde
UDvCLM
...
archives + shop le monde
guestbook
diaryland
email the claw
...
the last five entries:

i killed it Gilbert

the taco mystique

no networks, no nukes, not notcakes

my vacation in numbers

cycloparappin: CnH4n


how we do:
loupe online
universal donor
tape + solitaire
dr j.j.
tuckova
drunkenbee
my ninjas
dinosaur comics !
the 2ndhand
12% beer


+ you are #




1:00 pm | 18 September 2003 | instruments of justice

A couple of weeks ago, delicti sent me this:

...and it really got me thinking. The gallows are an instrument of justice? Well, yes, i suppose it's true, if we take "justice" to mean "the decree of the courts." But what sort of instrument? Is it a utensil? Does Justice use the gallows the same way I use a whisk? Is it sonorous? Is Justice the music that is played through the gallows, or does Justice play the gallows, and if so, what is the music? Is death the music? As the product of the gallows, i think it must be. "A device for recording, measuring, or controlling." The gallows does record, measure, and control death. Humph.

I don't know where i was going with this, not really. I started thinking about instruments. I started thinking about about the body as instrument, not ornament, and then i started wanting to be an instrument, not Justice but the gallows: something by which something is manifested. I wonder, though, what the agent will be. I'd like to think, O typically, fruitily, that i'd be an instrument of, like, love or something (i am blushing with embarassment at even having typed that crizzap). But it's true. But then I have to wonder what my effect will be. Oh well. It's probably some combination of weeping and booze! In which case, I'm already there! clm.


prev... (home) ...next

unless otherwise noted, all work contained herein is � claudia sherman, 2002-04.
all rights, including those of reproduction, reserved.