Americans,
your President.


claude le monde
UDvCLM
...
archives + shop le monde
guestbook
diaryland
email the claw
...
the last five entries:

i killed it Gilbert

the taco mystique

no networks, no nukes, not notcakes

my vacation in numbers

cycloparappin: CnH4n


how we do:
loupe online
universal donor
tape + solitaire
dr j.j.
tuckova
drunkenbee
my ninjas
dinosaur comics !
the 2ndhand
12% beer


+ you are #




4:31 pm | 18 August 2003 | try it, you might like it

Blagh. I'm 'bout to come atcha with yet another of the wildly inconsistent left-hooks i intermittently take at "poetry." I kind of like writing in quatrains that are neither rhyming nor metrically consistent; it's kind of weirdly jarring, which is cool. Like David Lynch did the typesetting. That is mega-abstract, i know. But hey, love me or leave me, homies. Wait, where are you going?! I didn't mean it! Wait! I love you!!! clm.


Lacquered into a slow-mo-lasses dark
We lay like undiscovered mummies
Staring up at a star-stuccoed ceiling
While the wind waved the curtains a Titanic�s farewell

Laying there talking Jericho
Your voice was naked in the blacksome
While you spun walls out of yourself like China
Sandbagging your flash-flood love

I jackhammered at the edges of my skin
Heart thumping like a battering ram in waltz time
Fingers claw-curled into grappling hooks
Thinking about cardiac anatomy. Look:

There are things we close up to keep out
And there are things we close up to keep inside
The abandoned lung-hungry warehouses crouch
Expectant as museums or zip-lipped tombs

How a twenty-four-year-long fuse
threads cinderblocked barricades like veins
How a steel door thirty years thick
has been left only a brittle whisper ajar

So as the time-mad drunks shout outside my window
I will fingernail soft boards over my eyes
Cloak them in stone with brand-new archaeology
So you�ll have something to tear down next year


prev... (home) ...next

unless otherwise noted, all work contained herein is � claudia sherman, 2002-04.
all rights, including those of reproduction, reserved.